Dashboard and buckets

If your question is not addressed below, contact us through our feedback form and we will get back to you shortly.

faq What are buckets?
faq How do I create buckets in my IDrive® e2 account?
faq What are IDrive® e2 bucket policies?
faq Where can I view the endpoints for the IDrive® e2 regions?
faq Where can I get credentials for using S3 compatible tools to access IDrive® e2?
faq What is object locking in buckets?
faq What is versioning in buckets?
faq What is retention in buckets?
faq What operations can I perform on a bucket in my IDrive® e2 account?
faq How do I add objects within a bucket?
faq How do I retrieve the data stored in my IDrive® e2 account?

What are buckets?

A bucket is a container for storing objects on the cloud. Once you create an IDrive® e2 account, you can create unlimited buckets and upload objects to them. Object storage has no hierarchy — each object is stored as a URL and includes a unique identifier and metadata.

Note: IDrive® e2 does not limit bucket size or the number of objects you can upload to a bucket.

How do I create buckets in my IDrive® e2 account?

To create a bucket,

  1. Sign in to your IDrive® e2 account.
  2. On the 'Dashboard' page, select a geolocation from the 'Region' drop-down, for creating buckets. Click 'Enable'.

    Click 'Add New Region' to add more regions. The 'Enabled regions' section in the 'Dashboard' will display all the enabled regions and the corresponding endpoint URL.

  3. Navigate to the 'Buckets' page and click 'Create Bucket'. Alternatively, you can click 'Create Bucket' right from the 'Dashboard' page.
  4. In the pop-up window, change the region selected in the drop-down menu if needed.
  5. Enter a bucket name and configure access as public or private.
    Note: Only paid accounts can configure a bucket for public access. Free accounts will not be able to use this feature.
  6. Enable 'Default Encryption' to secure all versions of the backup (recommended).
  7. If you wish to lock modification or deletion of any files for a specific duration, enable 'Object Locking'.
    Note: Object locking applies to individual objects. The S3 client can enable/disabled locking on any object in a bucket, if object lock is enabled for the bucket.
  8. If you want to retain different versions of the files, enable 'Versioning'.
    Note: When you enable 'Versioning', you can choose to enable 'Retention' to prevent accidental deletion of data in a bucket, for a time period.
  9. Enable 'Retention' to implement rules for object deletion and secure data against accidental deletion. Choose the preferred retention mode, duration, and validity.
    Note: Retention applies to all the objects in a bucket.
  10. Once you have configured the bucket, click 'Create Bucket'. The bucket will be created within the chosen region.

What are IDrive® e2 bucket policies?

IDrive® e2 bucket policies are access policies for managing permission to your resources. You can manage
your data by:

Note: Only paid accounts can configure a bucket for public access. Free accounts will not be able to use this feature.


Where can I view the endpoints for the IDrive® e2 regions?

The 'Enabled regions' section on the Dashboard tab displays the endpoint URL for all enabled regions. To add to the enabled regions list, click 'Add New Region', select a region from the dropdown, and click 'Enable'.

Where can I get credentials for using S3 compatible tools to access IDrive® e2?

As the Admin, you can create and manage access keys for your buckets. These keys can be used to access the IDrive® e2 cloud storage via S3 compatible tools.

To create an access key,

  1. Sign in to IDrive® e2 account via any browser.
  2. Navigate to the 'Access Key' tab and click 'Create Access Key'.
  3. Enter a name for the access key.
  4. Select a region from the list of enabled regions in the dropdown list.
  5. Select the access permission for the access key.
  6. Select the buckets to be accessed using the access key.
  7. Click 'Create Access Key'. An access key and secret will be generated.

    Download / copy and save the details of the access key.

Note: Access and manage your IDrive® e2 storage using third-party S3 tools from up to 1000 concurrent HTTP connections.

What is object locking in buckets?

Object locking restricts the modification or deletion of an object. This helps secure the files present in the buckets from any malware or cyber threats. You can enable object locking while creating the bucket.



Note: Object locking applies to individual objects. The S3 client can enable/disabled locking on any object in a bucket, if object lock is enabled for the bucket.

What is versioning in buckets?

When versioning is enabled for a bucket, every modification made to the objects in the bucket will be automatically saved as a new copy or version of the object. Versioning allows you to restore older versions of an object.


What is retention in buckets?

When retention is enabled for a bucket, any object uploaded to the bucket will automatically get locked for the duration specified in the bucket retention configuration.


Note: Retention applies to all the objects in a bucket.

What operations can I perform on a bucket in my IDrive® e2 account?

After creating a bucket, you can change the bucket access permissions, create a folder inside the bucket, upload objects, delete the objects, and delete the bucket.

To change the access permissions,

  1. Sign in to your IDrive® e2 account and navigate to the 'Buckets' page
  2. Click corresponding to a bucket.
  3. You can choose to retain the bucket as 'Private' or select the radio button 'Public' to enable public access.
  4. Enable / disable 'Default encryption' and 'Object locking' for the bucket.
  5. Click 'Update Bucket' to save the access permissions.

To add a folder within the bucket,

  1. Click on the bucket where you wish to add a folder.
  2. Click .
  3. Enter a name for the folder and click 'Create'.

To delete objects,

  1. Click on the bucket where you wish to add a folder.
  2. Select the objects you want to delete and click on the top-right. Alternatively, click corresponding to the file you wish to delete.
  3. Click 'Delete' in the confirmation popup.

The deletion will occur in the background and it may take a while based on the object size.

Similarly, to delete a folder, click corresponding to the folder you wish to delete. In case versioning is enabled, deleting the folder will only delete the current version of objects and not remove the folder. To remove the folder and objects permanentely, select the 'Delete all versions' checkbox in the confirmation window.

To delete a bucket, hover over the bucket and click and click 'Delete' in the confirmation popup.

How do I add objects within a bucket?

The data you store in your IDrive® e2 account is designated as objects and are assigned metadata and a unique identifier. The size of an object may vary from a few bytes to several gigabytes.

Note: Object name cannot be more than 1024 characters.

To add files within a bucket,

  1. Sign in to your IDrive® e2 account and navigate to the 'Buckets' page.
  2. Click on the bucket where you want to store the file.
  3. Click .
  4. Select and upload the files from your computer. The upload progress will be displayed in the bottom-right corner.
    Note: You can click to abort a file upload.

Click corresponding to any object for information such as object size, date of last modification, access level, version ID, and, in the case of public access, also the object URL.

How do I retrieve the data stored in my IDrive® e2 account?

You can retrieve your data stored in your IDrive® e2 account from anywhere.

To download your files,

  1. Sign in to your IDrive® e2 account.
  2. Navigate to the 'Bucket' page.
  3. Click on the bucket from which you want to retrieve the files.
  4. Select the objects you want to download and click .
    Alternatively, hover over the required object and click .
  5. You can also use your existing S3 compatible tool to download the files. Know more >